Over 65 Years Strong

About 600 volunteers, a dedicated Rodeo Board of Directors, Chief Executive Officer, event coordinators and support team all work together, driving the success of this mammoth event.

Today’s Isa Rodeo is a far cry from the event’s inception in 1958. It was then that the first Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo (MIRRI) Committee was formed.

The first committee was made up of TN Brunskill, AC Craig, PW Wynne, HA Wellington, RG Conley, GE McCoy, RW Holt, GJR Burton, Dr PA Tynan, Dr P Aston Pierce, FA Tadman, RG Muller, AV jones, C Monteath, Rev. S McPheat, B Dunbavand, O’Shea, RJ Fleming, F Aston, J O’Grady, WJ Malley, WE Sretton, R Stretton, J Hovi, L Teece, HL Beckett, Kelly, A Teece, A Saunders, C Steele, KS Harvey, BM Pitt, AV Jones, AJ Wellington and G Linton.

It was this dedicated group of founders and the many, many more who helped shape the event into what it is today.


Internationally recognised and the pride of Mount Isa and the Australian rodeo circuit, Mount Isa Mines  Rodeo is in the hands of an organisation driven to make the Isa Rodeo celebrations a huge success.

Now a company limited by guarantee with non-profit objectives, Isa Rodeo Limited includes people with a diverse range of skills, such as financial, corporate governance and human resources, with many providing their knowledge and hundreds of hours of service on a voluntary basis.

For over 60 years, the hard work, vision and dedication of the rodeo committee and board members has seen the event evolve into what it is today.

The current Board of Directors include:

  • Chair – Rowena McNally
  • Vice Chair – Darren Campi
  • Director – Karen Read
  • Director - Gary Murray
  • Director – Judy Boon
  • Director – John Montgomery
  • Director – Matt O’Neil
  • Chief Executive Officer – Natalie Flecker
MI810102-Cherie O'Donoghue, Rae-Etta Harrison and Kristie Moore, the winner and placegetters in the Breakaway Roping competition with our Rodeo Queens