Xstrata Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo a star on the national circuit

The Southern Hemisphere’s biggest rodeo wrapped up tonight after attracting around 600 competitors, thousands of spectators and more than 700 volunteers to north-west Queensland for the 53rd Xstrata Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo.

Rodeo Manager Tricia Esdaile said she was proud that the event was continuing to go from strength to strength, with both strong crowds and competitor numbers.

“I really want to thank the loyal people who come back here year after year – not just the competitors, the volunteers, the officials and the spectators.

“That’s the exciting thing because we are a remote location and people have to believe in this event to make the journey.

“I’ve talked to people from all over – from a father and son  who’d come from Ohio in the United States, to people who’ve driven up from Singleton in Victoria, the Sunshine Coast or stations 1000km away.

“It’s very encouraging for the event because we’ve not only got a loyal following but there’s a lot of new people who have for the first time experienced not only a rodeo, but a rodeo in the Outback.”

She said the Isa rodeo was both a world-class attraction and played an important social and economic role in the local north-west community, which extended for hundreds of kilometres around the city itself.

“We’ve had great support from the locals, from Xstrata, all the sponsors and of course from Rotary – it was a real team effort to make the event the success that it was and this support is very much appreciated,” she said.


Junior Bull Ride – Jackson Gill and Jake Plate, 137 points.
Break Away Roping  – Rachel Stanley,  time 7.3 seconds.
Local Station Buckjump  – Davey Dean, 132 points.
Poddy Calf Ride – Dylan Isaac, of Hughenden.
Bucking Ponies – Shane Austin.
2nd Division Bareback – Fraser Babbington, 110 points.
2nd Division Bull Ride – Joseph Pluto, 152 points.
2nd Division Saddle Bronc  – Brent Smyth, 140 points.
Rope & Tie – Shane Kenny, time 23.1 seconds.
Open Bareback – Anthony Thomas,  150 points.
Ladies Barrel Race – Jo Farquhar, time 35.58 seconds.
Junior Barrel Race – Shianne O’Donoghue-Kent.
Team Roping – Brendan Kenny & Aaron Bookluck.
Over 55s Team Roping  – Allan Knox and Kevin Reynolds.
Open Saddle Bronc  – Rhys Angland, 159 points.
Steer Wrestling – Shane Iker,  time  10.4 seconds.
Open Bull Ride (back to back winner 2010 & 2011) – Dave Kennedy, 242 points.
The Wrangler Country of Origin Bull Ride – Canadian Steve Turner,  224 points.

For more information visit www.isarodeo.com.au  or phone (07) 4743 2706. Follow us on www.facebook.com/isarodeo and www.twitter.com/isarode and www.youtube.com/mountisarotaryrodeo

To arrange an interview or high-res images, please contact:

Susan Fuller Mob: 0411 463 693  Email: susan.fuller@synergypr.net.au